Catalog

If you are having issues logging into your account, please contact your library for assistance.

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 8 of 30 copies available at Bibliomation. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Morris Public Library.

Current holds

12 current holds with 30 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Morris Public Library FIC KRU (Text to phone) 33460145787914 Adult New Fiction Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 0525541993
  • ISBN: 9780525541998
  • ISBN: 9780525541998
  • ISBN: 0525541993
  • Physical Description: pages cm
  • Publisher: New York : G. P. Putnam's Sons, [2021]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"A captivating debut novel about the tangled fates of two best friends and daughters of the Italian mafia, and a coming-of-age story of twentieth-century Brooklyn itself"-- Provided by publisher.
Genre: Bildungsromans.
Novels.

Syndetic Solutions - Publishers Weekly Review for ISBN Number 0525541993
The Family
The Family
by Krupitsky, Naomi
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Publishers Weekly Review

The Family

Publishers Weekly


(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

In this nicely written but slow-moving debut, two fierce heroines, daughters of mobsters, come of age in the Red Hook neighborhood of Brooklyn, in the 1930s and '40s. First-generation Sicilian American Sofia Colicchio grows up learning that "Family is everything." It's a bitter pill. When her best friend Antonia Russo's father, Carlo, is caught skimming the books and "disappeared," Antonia becomes even more dependent on the "Family" that killed her father, as it provides for her and her mother. As the power of Sofia's father, Joey, grows, so does Sofia's attraction to seizing power of her own, though there's no place for women in the organization, while Antonia tries to distance herself from the Family. Krupitsky follows Sofia and Antonia from early childhood through marriage and motherhood as each fight to carve out their independence and sense of self, and Antonia faces months of postpartum depression. Their experiences are shaped by WWII and a country where immigrants like Joey absorb such messages as "stay with your own kind; take the jobs we do not want," forcing them to carve out their own version of an "American dream" that must be "gleaned, bought or stolen." While a violent showdown at the end involving Sofia and Antonia feels jarring, Krupitsky beautifully captures their day-to-day lives under never-ending tension. The women's rich stories make this worthwhile. Agent: Dana Murphy, Book Group. (Nov.)

Syndetic Solutions - BookList Review for ISBN Number 0525541993
The Family
The Family
by Krupitsky, Naomi
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

BookList Review

The Family

Booklist


From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.

Mario Puzo meets Elena Ferrante in Krupitsky's dynamite debut novel, a decades-spanning saga beginning in 1920s Brooklyn. "There is no easy way to untangle what is Family and what is family," her characters realize to their chagrin and peril. Daughters of influential Mafiosos, fiery Sofia Colicchio and her introverted best friend, Antonia Russo, know their families aren't typical. Schoolmates avoid them, their mothers constantly worry, and on Sundays they attend a large Italian feast at their fathers' boss' home. When Antonia's papa tries to escape his profession, he gets "disappeared," a terrible warning against future betrayals. Sofia and Antonia are resilient, multifaceted young women whose bond occasionally strains as they test the boundaries of independence, and their choice of husbands ensnares them further in Family business. Depicting twentieth-century Mafia families primarily from the female viewpoint is a fabulous concept that Krupitsky carries out with aplomb. Perspective shifts are smooth, and the backdrops of Prohibition and WWII are superbly realized. Italian American traditions (including delicious casseroles) are highlighted, and the unique immigration stories show why and how Italian and Jewish newcomers get pulled into organized crime. Fans of Adriana Trigiani and Lynda Cohen Loigman will inhale this tense, engrossing novel about family ties, women's friendships, and the treacherous complications of loyalty.


Additional Resources